About Us

The Victorian Seals National League Water Polo Club is the Victoria’s sole licensed franchise in the National Water Polo League (NWPL), Australia’s premier domestic water polo competition.
Similar to the ANZ Netball Championship or the AFL, twelve clubs representing five States compete in the annual national competition over a five-month period, starting in January.  The league comprises both men’s and women’s teams, and the Victorian Seals fields a squad in each competition.

In addition to representing our State, the Victorian NWPL Club provides important competition opportunities for Victorian athletes some of whom are VIS and national squad members, as well as the next generation of water polo talent. Both our men’s and women’s squads include Australian Senior, Junior and Youth representatives which compete at an international level including the Olympics. London Olympian and currently one of the world’s best players, Rowena Webster, leads our women’s team, with ‘Aussie Sharks’ squad members Blake Edwards, two time Olympian James Stanton and Lachlan Edwards our men’s team.

2014 was the 25th year of the NWPL competition and the inaugural season for the Seals, following a Water Polo Victoria Board initiative to field a club that is representative of each of its local Victorian member clubs. Our Executive Committee comprises six Directors, two of whom are members of the Water Polo Victoria Board, plus a player representative.  Collectively our focus is on governance, player welfare, and ensuring strong financials through fundraising, sponsorship and partnerships.


Vic Seals Collage